Macabre Mondays

Macabre Monday: “Macabre”

 

Hello there you spooky souls! Welcome to the first installment of Macabre Mondays, where I’ll be sharing my viewpoints and discoveries in all things strange. I will be sharing reviews on horror movies, tv shows, books. I plan on taking you around to show you some of the haunted areas in my city (there are quite a few). And maybe even look into some fashion, brands and other goodies as well.

I knew I wanted to do a movie review for the first installment, but therein lied the task of choosing which flick to subject myself to. After flipping through some lists online, Netflix, my own collection and Shomi, I settled on the absolute obvious choice. A movie called Macabre. So buckle up, it’s about to get bloody.

Macabre2009 (Shomi)



MV5BMjE4MDU1MTg4Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjI5NDE2MDE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_Image Via IMDB

“When a group of friends travelling through the countryside stop to help a young woman, they cannot imagine the nightmare this innocent act of kindness will soon unleash.”

Let me start off by saying, I went into this not knowing it was a foreign film. Once I realized and did a quick search I found this is a Korean movie and prepared myself for a lot of gore. And then I waited. And I waited. And the only thing that kept me going past the halfway point was just the need for answers for why these crazy things were happening. I felt that the gore was rather muted by using music to cover up the sounds or cutting to a black screen.

My curious mind, however, needed to know why the antagonists were committing these atrocities. I assumed I’d be in for a rather predictable movie. But then, the ball started rolling. The blood started flowing. And wowee, did they sure climax with the gore and violence at the end. AND I NEVER GOT MY ANSWERS!! You can deduct that the villains are killing for a specific reason, but we don’t get any actual information on it. It’s what I call a “bore-gore” horror movie. It’s boring, then it’s gory. Then, it’s over.

If gore is your thing, then this is a decent movie for you. If you love horror movies from Asia then this is a decent movie for you. I however need more story, I need more meat to sink my teeth into, for lack of a better phrase.

I give Macabre a solid two chainsaws out of five. If they had just fleshed (again for lack of better words) out the story line just a little I probably could have agreed with the 3.5 starts it’s been rated on Shomi.

Has anyone else out there seen Macabre? What did you think of it? Are any of you going to give it a watch?  Also, please recommend anything you think I should watch and review on Macabre Mondays! Or comment with suggestions for any subject for Macabre Mondays or anything else you’d like to see me natter on about here at Descending Galaxies.

Until next time, stay spooky.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Macabre Monday: “Macabre”

  1. I can honestly say that I’ve never seen Macabre – of course, I’ve not watched many Korean horror movies. This is mainly due to not knowing which ones to watch, or where to watch them. As for movies to review, things to write about…I honestly don’t have a clue.

    Like

    1. This is the first Korean horror movie I’ve ever watched, so I’m no expert. Asian horror tends to be pretty heavy in the gore, however. I hope maybe through more reviews on Descending Galaxies I can share my findings and then pass the knowledge on to readers such as yourself!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I look forward to reading your reviews, and oddly gore doesn’t bother me. I’ve yet to find a horror movie that truly horrifies me…maybe I’m weird?

        Like

Leave a Reply

